Saturday , December 16 2017
Home / Local / ‘Setback’ to Okhla MLA Amanatullah Khan?

‘Setback’ to Okhla MLA Amanatullah Khan?

Delhi Waqf Board is back in the news once again and this time around after two of its members resigned from the body. Before putting in their papers they attributed their decision to “corruption” and “irregularities” in appointments, an allegation that has been denied by current Delhi Waqf Board chairman Okhla AAP MLA Amanatullah Khan.

It is to be noted that after a sexual harassment case was filed against MLA Khan by his sister-in-law a few weeks ago, the MLA had resigned from the chairmanship denying all the charges. It is another story that his resignation was not accepted by the party. According to reports, Mufti Ejaj Arshad Qazmi and Chaudhary Sharif Ahmad are understood to have told reporters that they have resigned from the membership of the Board and sent their resignation letters to Lt Governor Najeeb Jung.

The Board was at the centre of attraction after on a complaint, the Anti-Corruption Branch had started a probe into alleged irregularities.

However, MLA Khan has refuted the allegations. He said the members were allegedly working at the behest of Lt Governor. “It’s a new ploy and they are colluding with LG. They wanted me to serve their interests which I refused. Everything will be clear in next few days,” Khan said as reported by PTI.

The duo had resigned a few months after Congress Rajya Sabha MP Parvez Hashmi had resigned. Now, the six-member Board has now just two members including Khan.

If you have news tip or story idea, photo or video please email at to strengthen local governance and community journalism. Also you can join us and become a source for OT to help us empower the marginalized through digital inclusion.

Check Also


#okhlaphotofest: Capture Okhla and win power bank for free; click on link for rules

#okhlaphotofest: Capture Okhla and win power bank for free. Giveaway part one is here. In …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Powered by