Saturday , January 20 2018
Home / Report / Cabinet rejigged; know portfolio of Ministers

Cabinet rejigged; know portfolio of Ministers

As expected the reshuffle in the Union Cabinet has taken place on Tuesday.

Reports pointed out that Smriti Irani was moved out of the HRD ministry while senior BJP leader Venkaiah Naidu was given the additional charge of the I&B ministry.

Vijay Goel has become the new Sports Minister while Ananth Kumar got the additional charge of Parliamentary Affairs. Irani will now head the textile ministry while Prakash Javadekar will replace him as the HRD minister.

MJ Akbar will be MoS External Affairs.

Five junior ministers have been dropped.

Minister of State for Environment Prakash Javadekar elevated to the cabinet.

The portfolio of the Union Council of Ministers.

Prime Minister: Narendra Modi
Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions
Department of Atomic Energy
Department of Space
Cabinet Ministers
Rajnath Singh: Home Affairs
Sushma Swaraj: External Affairs
Arun Jaitley: Finance Corporate Affairs
M Venkaiah Naidu: Urban Development Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation |Information & Broadcasting
Nitin Jairam Gadkari: Road Transport and Highways Shipping
Manohar Parrikar: Defence
Suresh Prabhu: Railways
D. V. Sadananda Gowda: Statistics & Programme Implementation
Uma Bharati: Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation
Najma A. Heptulla: Minority Affairs
Shri Ramvilas Paswan: Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution
Kalraj Mishra: Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises
Maneka Sanjay Gandhi: Women & Child Development
Ananth Kumar: Chemicals & Fertilizers | Parliamentary Affairs
Ravi Shankar Prasad: Law & Justice | Electronics & Information Technology
Jagat Prakash Nadda: Health & Family Welfare
Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati: Civil Aviation
Anant Geete: Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises
Harsimrat Kaur Badal: Food Processing Industries
Narendra Singh Tomar: Rural Development | Panchayati Raj | Drinking Water & Sanitation
Chaudhary Birender Singh: Steel
Jual Oram: Tribal Affairs
Radha Mohan Singh: Agriculture & Farmers Welfare
Thaawar Chand Gehlot: Social Justice and Empowerment
Smriti Zubin Irani: Textiles
Dr. Harsh Vardhan: Science & Technology | Earth Sciences
Prakash Javadekar: Human Resource Development
Ministers of State
Rao Inderjit Singh: Planning (Independent Charge) | Urban Development Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation
Bandaru Dattatreya: Labour & Employment (Independent Charge)
Rajiv Pratap Rudy: Skill Development & Entrepreneurship (Independent Charge)
Vijay Goel: Youth Affairs and Sports (Independent Charge) | Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation
Shripad Yesso Naik: AAYUSH (Independent Charge)
Dharmendra Pradhan: Petroleum and Natural Gas (Independent Charge)
Piyush Goyal: Power (Independent Charge) Coal (Independent Charge) New and Renewable Energy (Independent Charge) Mines (Independent Charge)
Jitendra Singh: Development of North Eastern Region (Independent Charge) Prime Minister’s Office Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions Department of Atomic Energy Department of Space
Nirmala Sitharaman: Commerce and Industry (Independent Charge)
Mahesh Sharma: Culture (Independent Charge) Tourism (Independent Charge)
Manoj Sinha: Communications (Independent Charge) Railways
Anil Madhav Dave: Environment, Forest and Climate Change (Independent Charge)
General V. K. Singh: External Affairs
Santosh Kumar Gangwar: Finance
Faggan Singh Kulaste: Health & Family Welfare
Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi: Minority Affairs | Parliamentary Affairs
SS Ahluwalia: Agriculture & Farmers Welfare | Parliamentary Affairs
Ramdas Athawale: Social Justice & Empowerment
Ram Kripal Yadav: Rural Development
Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary: Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises
Giriraj Singh: Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises
Hansraj Gangaram Ahir: Home Affairs
G M Siddeshwara: Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises
Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi: Drinking Water & Sanitation
Rajen Gohain: Railways
Parshottam Rupala: Agriculture & Farmers Welfare | Panchayati Raj
MJ Akbar: External Affairs
Upendra Kushwaha: Human Resources Development
Radhakrishnan P: Road Transport & Highways | Shipping
Kiren Rijiju: Home Affairs
Krishan Pal: Social Justice & Empowerment
Jasvantsinh Sumanbhai Bhabhor: Tribal Affairs
Sanjeev Kumar Balyan: Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation
Vishnu Deo Sai: Steel
Sudarshan Bhagat: Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
Y S Chowdary: Science & Technology | Earth Science
Jayant Sinha: Civil Aviation
Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore: Information & Broadcasting
Babul Supriyo: Urban Development Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation
Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti: Food Processing Industries
Vijay Sampla: Social Justice & Empowerment
Arjun Ram Meghwal: Finance | Corporate Affairs
Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey: Human Resource Development
Ajay Tamta: Textiles
Krishna Raj: Women & Child Development
Mansukh L. Mandaviya: Road Transport & Highways, Shipping, Chemicals & Fertilizers
Anupriya Patel: Health & Family Welfare
CR Chaudhary: Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution
P P Chaudhary: Law & Justice Electronics & Information Technology
Subhash Ramrao Bhamre: Defence

If you have news tip or story idea, photo or video please email at to strengthen local governance and community journalism. Also you can join us and become a source for OT to help us empower the marginalized through digital inclusion.

Check Also

Noted academicians, businessmen of Indian community gather in Dammam

Indian Overseas Group (IOG) arranged an Eid Milan dinner last Thursday October 5 in Dammam …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Powered by