Wednesday , November 22 2017
Home / JMI/Campus / 1 among these 3 people will replace Lt Gen Zameer (retd) as AMU VC

1 among these 3 people will replace Lt Gen Zameer (retd) as AMU VC

A special meeting of the AMU Court, the supreme governing body of the Aligarh Muslim University, on Saturday recommended a panel of three names to the President of India, in his capacity as Visitor of the University, for the appointment of the next Vice Chancellor.

The meeting of the Court recommended Professor Tariq Mansoor, Principal and CMS, Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College and Hospital; Dr Abusaleh Shariff, Executive Director and Chief Scholar, US-India Policy Institute, Washington and Dr Shahid Jameel, CEO, Welcome Trust and DBT India Alliance.

The meeting was presided over by Pro Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University Nawab Ibne Saeed Khan of Chattari and Naseem Ahmad, former AMU Vice Chancellor was the Chief Election Officer to conduct the election.

Prof Tariq Mansoor secured 94 votes, Dr Abusaleh Shariff secured 90 votes and Dr Shahid Jameel secured 86 votes while Prof Javaid Akhter, AMU Registrar secured 84 votes and Prof Mazahir Kidwai, Vice Chancellor of IIMT University, Meerut secured 36 votes.

A total of 130 votes were polled by AMU Court Members.

Earlier, the Executive Council of the University drew a panel of five names to the University Court.

Meanwhile, AMU Vice Chancellor, Lt Gen. Zameer Uddin Shah (Veteran) expressed satisfaction on the smooth conduct of the election. He added that it is hoped that the new Vice Chancellor will work for the betterment and progress of the University.

Pro Vice Chancellor, Brig S Ahmad Ali (Veteran); Prof Habibur Rehman, AMU Treasurer; Dr Mahmood-Ur-Rahman, former AMU Vice Chancellor; Prof P K Abdul Aziz, former AMU Vice Chancellor; Dr Abhijit Mukherjee, Member of Parliament; Dr Ashok Seth, noted cardiologist and AMU alumnus; K C Tyagi, Member of Parliament; Dr Syed Farooq Ahmad; Dr Syed Zafar Mahmood; Satish Kumar Gautam, Member of Parliament; Chaudhary Mehboob Ali Qaiser, Member of Parliament; Mohd Badruddoza Khan, Member of Parliament; E T Mohd Basheer, Member of Parliament; Mohd Asrarul Haq Qasmi, Member of Parliament; Dr Mohsin Wali; Sayeda Saiyidin Hameed; Siraj Qureshi; Dr Nadeem Tarin, noted entrepreneur; Zafar Iqbal, former India Hockey Captain; Maulana Kalbe Sadiq and S M Khan, Press Registrar, Government of India, along with other members, were present at the meeting.

Prof Asfar Ali Khan, Officiating Registrar, AMU proposed the vote of thanks.

If you have news tip or story idea, photo or video please email at to strengthen local governance and community journalism. Also you can join us and become a source for OT to help us empower the marginalized through digital inclusion.

Check Also

Spark at Jamia is just a few days away

CONNECT. INSPIRE. BUILD. The business cell of Jamia Millia Islamia presents you with its upcoming …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by