Thursday , February 22 2018
Home / JMI/Campus / AAJMI 2018: Faraz snatches win from jaws of defeat

AAJMI 2018: Faraz snatches win from jaws of defeat

Vice president candidate Faraz Khan has won AAJMI battle 2018 by defeating Firoze Jameei by small margin of about 130 votes in a tightly contested poll.

According to official confirmation, now Faraz is the new VP of AAJMI with Shafur Rahman being president, Badre Alam being general secretary and Danish being joint secretary.

In the VP contest it was Firoze who was leading from round one but Faraz fought and gradually narrowed the margin to take lead later on to be elected VP.

Since the university made announcement for the AAJMI 2008 poll merging JOBA into it, candidates had started preparation and Zakir Nagar-based Faraz was also among the candidates. After filing nomination, he campaigned tirelessly in the locality to win hearts and minds of the alumni, whose election was held on February 11.

Since morning, Sports Complex of Jamia attracted a large number of alumni voters with 50 per cent turnout. The polling was peaceful and held under high security.

Some 100 university employees were roped in to make sure that election process was carried out smoothly.

And at the end of the day under the leadership of Returning Officer Dr Moshahid Rizvi, the AAJMI 2018 election was held peacefully and was a big success, said sources.

If you have news tip or story idea, photo or video please email at to strengthen local governance and community journalism. Also you can join us and become a source for OT to help us empower the marginalized through digital inclusion.

Check Also

Why Muslims count for next to nothing

Social relations in the Quranic perspective

Lecture series on Quranic teachings announced. The K A Nizami Centre for Quranic Studies, Aligarh …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Powered by